What I’m Reading

A Man without a Country by Kurt Vonnegut – I had read bits and pieces of this in the past while walking around in Barnes & Noble, but I finally bought it (and finished it) today.  I love Vonnegut.  His energy, love for life, and sense of humor drip out of the pages.  Some of my favorite quotes:

“No matter how corrupt, greedy, and heartless our government, our corporations, our media, and our religious and charitable institutions may become, the music will still be wonderful.”

“The imagination circuit is taught to respond to the most minimal of cues.  A book is an arrangement of twenty-six phonetic symbols, ten numerals, and about eight punctuation marks, and people can cast their eyes over these and envision the eruption of Mount Vesuvius or the Battle of Waterloo.”

“What you respond to in any work of art is the artist’s struggle against his or her limitations.”

The Dirt by Neil Strauss – I can’t remember if I wrote about this already but I finished it a little over a week ago.  It has the craziest stories I’ve ever read (sorry IHTSBIH).  Strauss is another one of my favorite authors and this book once again reaffirmed my belief: fame comes at a heavy price.

The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene – I liked both Seduction and War, and this book is also very good.  Greene is an astonishingly impressive author.

The Entrepreneur’s Manual by Richard White – Excellent, if you have any interest starting up a business.  Recommended by Ben Casnocha.

Tribes by Seth Godin – Still waiting for this to come in the mail, but as soon as I get it, I’m going to burn through it.  Heavily anticipated for obvious reasons.

“The Things He Carried” by Jeffrey Goldberg – Really interesting article on how much of a facade airport security truly is.

“Buy American. I am.” by Warren Buffett – Great article on how now is the time to buy undervalued equities.  Buffett’s motto is to be greedy when others are fearful, and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

